Inauspicious beginnings

We open our discussions here with a problem.

In order to create a presence on the Internet, in order to create a location where I could divest myself of the accumulated frustrations of everyday life, I needed a theme. Well, I didn’t need the theme. WordPress needed the theme, as it very helpfully informed me when I created the page.

“Select a theme.”

God. I haven’t even written a post yet. What do you mean, select a theme?

Who even knows what theme they want anyway? I want text, on a web page. Does that have to be themed, now?

You’re trying my patience. So I start browsing some of the themes. Oh, this one has a picture of a cup of coffee on it. I suppose that’s for people who will be writing their blog posts from a coffee shop, on a Macbook. ¹

I eventually found one that looked to have the least amount of nonsense, and went with that. I’m sure I’ll discover something unnecessary eventually. And then I’ll have to start all over.

I suppose it will do. I write Tuesdays and Thursdays. Why those days? Because those are the days you need something to read at 9:30am, when you’re starting to think about the third morning coffee and you need to tell yourself that you’ll read just one blog post before you get on with the day. Whatever helps you get through the day, chief.

The Angry Australian

 

 

 

¹ At ten thirty in the morning, on a weekday. Because that’s where successful people are on a weekday morning, at a cafe with their Macbook.

Inauspicious beginnings

Leave a comment